Mon. Oct 26th, 2020

Hyderabad to Host IPL T20 – 2019 Final

IPL 2018 - Finals SRH vs CSK

The much-awaited Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 playoffs schedule was disclosed through media reports on Monday with the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad carded to host the IPL-T20 2019 final as Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) failed to get a permission to open stands I, J and K at the MA Chidambram Stadium in Chennai.

Chennai will now host Qualifier 1 on May 7 while Vizag will host the Eliminator and Qualifier 2.

IPL 2018 - Finals SRH vs CSK

Even though the IPL playoffs are generally hosted in the venues of the winners and runners-up, certain challenges made BCCI announce a shift of venues.


CSK were the champions of IPL 2018 and Final should be hosted by Chennai, but as they could not arrange things, BCCI's next priority was the runners-up i.e., SRH.


“We had to shift the matches from Chennai to Hyderabad after TNCA intimated us that they have not procured the requisite permission to open the three stands I, J and K,” Committee of Administrators (CoA) chief Vinod Rai told PTI on Monday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *